On the Cusp of Something Big

There’s 10 days left in 2012 and soon enough we will be in a new year. A new year in itself is cause for introspection but 2013 will be a big one for me. I’ll be turning 40 in about a month and a half into the new year and although I’d like to think that’s not a big deal – it is.

Before jumping into 2013 let’s review 2012 using some familiar categories:

Ultimate

  • My kids (Franklin HS Boys) finished with a 17-3 record. We lost to only one team – Northwest School – by 4 points in each game. The last one was for the state championship and it was the most exciting by far. We were down 3-9 and rallied back to 9-9 before succumbing 11-15. I won COTY and one of my seniors won Co-MVP in the state and we won the Seattle Public School title.
  • I decided to coach the Seattle Mixed team at USA Ultimate’s Youth Club Championships this past summer and we took second. We lost to a strong Boston team in the finals and this was the best finish ever for a Seattle Mixed team.
  • I got to travel to Dublin, Ireland to see Henry and Tiffany Phan compete on the US national U20 team at World Juniors Ultimate Championships. The boys won gold and the girls took home silver medals! It was my first time in Europe and I traveled with my good friend Sam Terry. I also got a chance to spend 30 hours in Edingburgh, Scotland during Fringe Festival and spent 3.5 hours in Amsterdam during a long lay-over. I am definitely going back!

Work/Career

  • In my Individual Development Plan last year I wrote three things: 1. apply for Seattle’s Leadership Tomorrow program and 2. apply for City Year’s LEAD program. 3. Apply for a director position in a new Regional Recruitment model at City Year. Both leadership programs are competitive and would introduce me to some great programming and even greater networks. The new job would give me a better chance to manage a team and do some more work in that arean. At best, I thought I’d get one of these things. Little did I know I’d get all three!

Leadership Tomorrow takes a 1/3 of their candidates from non-profit, for-profit and civic backgrounds. It’s a program that drives to build greater future leadership to combat regional issues surrounding education, economy, health & wellness, basic needs, arts & culture, neighborhoods & communities, and the environment. LT has not failed in my expectations for greater networking. City Year Seattle was a recipient of a $5,000 grant b/c of a relationship I built during my time. (Thanks Century Link and Theresa!) The programming has been strong and educational but by far my favorite part is the great relationships I’ve been building. I encourage all my friends to consider this program for themselves.

LEAD City Year has also been great but more specifically for my career at City Year. I get to check-in monthly with Charlie Rose (one of my favorite people in the world) who is the Dean of CY and a Senior Vice President. I get to travel to Boston 4x this year for specific leadership development. I get to interface with the Senior Leadership of CY. It’s pretty amazing and I’m surrounded by some spectacularly smart and passionate colleagues. 

Within City Year I’m now the Regional Director of Admissions for the West Coast Region. I love my new job and I get the privilege of managing a remarkable team of admissions and admissions-operations managers. My team and I handle the admissions framework for Los Angeles, San Jose, Sacramento and Seattle! Love it!

Life/Ubuntu

  • It seems every year is filled with ups and downs and 2012 was no different. I already talked about many of my “ups” in the two categories above. I’ve also had a number of “downs”.
  • My friend Geneva McQueen passed away this year after she sustained a serious injury while snowboarding with her husband and friends at Stevens Pass. She is one of the most colorful and adored and passionate people I’ve ever met. She made friends from all different social circles, cared passionately about kids with less resources, worked tirelessly to make a greater life for her and her husband and was a great friend. She will be missed.
  • My mom had some serious bouts with her health this summer and I spent a week or so back home at New York Columbia Presbyterian. She already has Evan’s Syndrome and now also has some rare liver disorder. She’s much better now but every day and every month is something I’m thankful for. Even when she is bugging me about marriage and grand-kids. Sheesh.

On top of all these things – 2013 will be remembered for Obama’s re-election, the passage of marriage equality laws in WA (and 2 other states), abd the horror of Newtown, CT. I can only imagine what the upcoming year will hold for me and my community but I look forward to it. I’ll save my thoughts on turning 40 for another post.

About franknam

Just a boy in a world trying to do good, teach others, laugh, and eat tasty food. I dig snowboarding, the PacNW, all things NYC, ultimate frisbee, and anything well-made.
This entry was posted in Ultimate (frisbee), Warm & Fuzzy, Work and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On the Cusp of Something Big

  1. Sizzle says:

    I don’t want to turn 40 next year! Thanks for paving the way. 🙂

  2. Kat says:

    Wow I love your work with the youth Frank!! I want to be more hands-on with our youth as well. Can we have a conversation about this?? 오빠?!?!

Leave a Reply

