The Ultimate Summer = SEA + JFK + BOS + MSP + DUB

I know it’s only late March but I’m looking forward to the summer b/c of some travel plans I have.

I’ll take each airport code in my title and discuss below:

SEA – Seattle, WA – I live here so it’s no surprise to anyone (I hope). Seattle summers are amazing and it’s hard to leave during this season. 80 degree temperatures, almost no humidity, sunsets at 9pm, etc.

JFK – New York, NY – I have to go to Boston in July for work so I always try and stop by at home before that. It’ll be good to catch up with old friends and family but I AM NOT looking forward to east coast humidity.

BOS – Boston, MA – I would never travel to this city (BOO RED SOX!) if it wasn’t for work. We have a huge Summer Academy where all the different City Year sites send their staff and Senior Corps to Northeastern University for a week or so. Not looking forward to the heat/humidity but I am looking forward to some great friends I’ve made across the network!

MSP – Minneapolis, MN – Every year I go to Blaine, MN to take Seattle all-star teams to compete at youth club nationals for ultimate (frisbee). This year I am will be wearing two hats – as General Manger and as the Head Coach for the Mixed (co-ed) team! Hooray!

DUB – Dublin, Ireland – The co-captain of the HS team I coach made TEAM USA for Junior Worlds in Dublin this year! I’m super proud of him and I am working with some friends to make arrangements to fly out to root for him and TEAM USA! It’ll be right after the London Olympics end so we hope to also travel to the England and Scotland! Another player of mine is an alternate for the girls team so she may also get called up to go! I love that ultimate has opened up such amazing doors of opportunity for my kids!

How about you? What are your summer plans?

About franknam

Just a boy in a world trying to do good, teach others, laugh, and eat tasty food. I dig snowboarding, the PacNW, all things NYC, ultimate frisbee, and anything well-made.
This entry was posted in NYC, Reflections, Seattle, Ultimate (frisbee), Warm & Fuzzy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Ultimate Summer = SEA + JFK + BOS + MSP + DUB

  1. Sizzle says:

    I really want to go to Ireland! Lucky!

Leave a Reply

