Messenger Bags and NYC

If you know me well you’ve probably seen me with an old black Manhattan Portage messenger bag strapped over my shoulder. In fact, during college, a friend of mine made a cartoon of me and in it I had on a baseball cap while holding a frisbee while having a messenger bag strapped around my shoulder. It was my calling card. It was me.

MPMB

Here's a newer version of my bag. Imagine this but all black and crappy

I’ve had the same old messenger bag for over 15 years and it showed. Holes were appearing, the old MP logo had ripped off, the waterproof waxed interior wasn’t so waterproof anymore. But how do I get rid of this bag? What would I do without it?

Yes, I was freaking out.

Anyways, it was time for a new bag. I just bought a new Dell XPS 15 laptop (which I LOVE) and wanted something to carry it in. I also wanted a messenger bag and not a backpack. Remember, this is my calling card! I searched far and wide and finally made a decision!

Behold my new bag!

TB2 Bag

Same exact color I have!

It’s the Timbuk2 Command Messenger bag. The laptop sleeve compartment zips off and is TSA approved (so I don’t have to take it out of the bag during security check-ins)! It’s pretty dope and I’m happy to say that when you see me… you’ll still see the black strap around my shoulder.

It has a side zipper to get to keys/wallet w/o opening the entire bag up!

It has tons of little compartments for everything you’ll need!

Take a look here: http://www.timbuk2.com/tb2/products/laptop/command-laptop-messenger

Everything is going to be ok!

About franknam

Just a boy in a world trying to do good, teach others, laugh, and eat tasty food. I dig snowboarding, the PacNW, all things NYC, ultimate frisbee, and anything well-made.
This entry was posted in Childhood, NYC, Review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Messenger Bags and NYC

Leave a Reply

