Last Stop – A Week of Celebrating the End of Things

It’s been a busy week. The two things that consume most of my time are coming to an end (for now) this week.

Franklin High School Ultimate!

On Wednesday night my HS kids got a chance to play for 3rd place against Nathan Hale. They lost a tough game in semi-finals against a superbly-coached University Prep team (the players were also very good) on Monday and had two days to recover physically, emotionally and mentally.

We traded points with NHHS and then finally opened up a 2 point lead to take half 7-5 by playing zone defense. We finished the game winning 13-9 and took third place in the state!

On Thursday night – during the finals b/w The Northwest School and University Prep (NWS won 13-5) – our team was honored with the Most Spirited Team award for our league games. My co-coach Doug, our two captains Henry and Tugade and our two seniors DJ and Mario were there to accept the trophy/award!

Not sure what to do with my down-time now that there’s no more practices and games and tournaments. There’s still YCC coming up and that’ll help me stay connected to youth ultimate and I’m sure a ton of my kids will be trying out. One thing ends – another thing begins. I feel like singing that Lion King song right now. I won’t. Don’t worry.

City Year

Last night I was at the Seattle Children’s Theater celebrating the graduation of the 2010-2011 City Year Seattle corps member class. These were 55 young men and women who just completed over 1700 hours of service in Seattle public schools and in the local community. This was my very first class that I personally recruited and it was an amazing event filled with laughter, celebration, amazing youth performances, and some dope speeches. I will miss the vitality, honesty, passion, and dedication of this graduating class and look forward to seeing how my next class of recruits will do in 2011-2012. No matter what – this is my first class and they will ALL hold a very special place in my heart.

It’s been a great week and a tough week. I won’t see Gabe and Hoang stopping by office anymore. I won’t be able to work alongside Kendall at recruitment events. I won’t hear Nichole’s infectious energy and laughter or see Drea’s powerful passion for social justice and arts. I’ll miss the quiet strength and fortitude of Sona, Prescott, Chris, Andrew and Autum. I’ll miss the dance moves of Dominique.

But I know my first class of corps members will go on to amazing things. I look forward to working with 15 returning corps member next year! I am excited for Desiree and Malia as they join the ranks of Teach for America! I can’t wait to hear what Kristen, Dan, and Kiernan do in graduate school! I look forward to hearing stories about the first year of college from Erica, Gabe, Autum, Max, John, and Allie!

Keep these names in mind – they are going to do amazing things in a variety of fields!

About franknam

Just a boy in a world trying to do good, teach others, laugh, and eat tasty food. I dig snowboarding, the PacNW, all things NYC, ultimate frisbee, and anything well-made.
This entry was posted in Reflections, Seattle, Ultimate (frisbee), Warm & Fuzzy, Work and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Last Stop – A Week of Celebrating the End of Things

  1. sizzle says:

    You are a good man, Frank, doing great work.

Leave a Reply

