Franklin HS Kids Help Raise $1100 for Japan!

My HS kids at Franklin amaze me everyday but yesterday was something special. Three of them decided to raise money for Japan tsunami relief by running a hat tournament yesterday. They did all the work. They got the fields reserved. They created the Facebook event and invited all their friends. They got the rest of the team to bake things and bring food. They got ultimate jerseys donated from local players to sell. They coordinated all the logistics.

I was lucky enough to take a quick break from work to see them yesterday and it was amazing. They had over 80 people – mostly kids in HS and MS!

Last night I got a text from one of the coordinators telling me that they raised over $1100 for Japan tsunami relief!!

This is why I love my job at City Year, my board responsibilities with 826 Seattle, and of course my coaching/interactions with kids at Franklin HS (and Mercer MS, Aki Kurose MS, and Cleveland HS)!

Whitney Houston was right. Children ARE the future. And if my HS kids and corps members at City Year are any indication of that future – it’s looking bright!

About franknam

Just a boy in a world trying to do good, teach others, laugh, and eat tasty food. I dig snowboarding, the PacNW, all things NYC, ultimate frisbee, and anything well-made.
This entry was posted in Reflections, Seattle, Ultimate (frisbee), Warm & Fuzzy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

