To the Moon and Back

I got into my car earlier this evening and headed home. Half-way there I was waylaid and forced to detour. Not by pirates or thieves but by the moon.

Did you see her?

I have only seen the moon this big and this grand once before. The last time was when I was a small boy back in NYC. We were in the car driving back from Friday night service and as we exited the Lincoln Tunnel and took the rising road that would lead us to the NJ Turnpike I looked over to the normally grandiose skyline and saw the moon bigger than ever before. It was so incomprehensibly large that I thought the world was ending.

She hung above the Empire State Building and dwarfed the entire skyline. She was magical. And then as we motored through Union City she was gone. I’ve thought of that moment many times in my life. I dream about it.

Tonight the same moon from my childhood returned and hung in the eastern sky. Maybe not as big as I remembered but still magical. I had to follow her. I couldn’t lose her again. I drove to I-90 and headed east over the floating bridge, past Mercer Island, beyond the strip malls of Factoria and Bellevue and beyond the hills of Issaquah. I saw her bright and beaming as the lights of civilization faded behind me. I thought I’d drive all night.

I didn’t.

I exited at the Summit at Snoqualmie and turned towards home. I wasn’t going to reach the moon tonight. I came to that realization and turned my back on her radiance and drove in darkness. Will I have to wait another 25 years to see this again?

(The lunar cycle says no but let’s not ruin the moment)

The emptiness lasted past Issaquah and through Bellevue. Around the time I hit Factoria and past Mercer Island a new hope dawned on me. Yes, the moon was gone for now but in the morning I’d get to see the sun.

(Seattle, please don’t rain tomorrow and mess all this up).

Joy comes in the morning

About franknam

Just a boy in a world trying to do good, teach others, laugh, and eat tasty food. I dig snowboarding, the PacNW, all things NYC, ultimate frisbee, and anything well-made.
This entry was posted in Childhood, Warm & Fuzzy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

