Tristan und Isolde

This Saturday is going to be my first foray into the world of opera. Lisa is taking me to see Wagner’s Tristan und Isolde. Last night we went to a pre-opera lecture with Speight Jenkins who is the General Director. It was very informative to learn more about Wagner and the opera itself. He went over the cast of characters, the back-story, and where Wagner was in his life when he wrote this.

I was perusing the Seattle Opera website and found this great link for first time goers:

http://www.seattleopera.org/discover/etiquette/index.aspx

Did you know that they project subtitles on the screen?

I had no idea.

Although this will be my first operatic experience, I am aware of the story. I read a version of Tristan and Isolde back in college in a comparative history class called Patterns of Civilization: Love. I perused the current  course catalog at Rutgers and found out that same two professors who co-taught it back in the day are still teaching it now. One would teach from Asian texts while the other would teach from European texts. We read things like The Sorrows of Young Werther, Tale of Genji, and Tristan und Isolde.

So – any opera fans out there? If so, what do you love about the opera? Any tips for me?

About franknam

Just a boy in a world trying to do good, teach others, laugh, and eat tasty food. I dig snowboarding, the PacNW, all things NYC, ultimate frisbee, and anything well-made.
This entry was posted in Arts, Seattle, Warm & Fuzzy. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tristan und Isolde

  1. Sizzle says:

    I’ve been to the opera before. My friend actual does the super titles (I think that is what they are called?) and she sings opera so I’ve heard a bunch about it. I liked it. Wished I had brought binoculars though to see better. I actually have opera glasses I could have lent you!

Leave a Reply

