YCC 2010 – Hitting for the Cycle

I got back last night from an extended weekend trip. Most extended weekend trips sound relaxing. Maybe you think I went to a beach resort? Or perhaps you believe I went back home to NYC to re-establish my floundering relationship with real bagels and old friends?

Well if thought such things – you’d be wrong. Instead I have been in charge of sixty-plus HS ultimate (frisbee) players. It wasn’t a vacation but I did have a great time. I also don’t want to think about having kids for at least six months. At least not sixty of them.

DiscNW sent 3 teams (boys, girls, co-ed) to the 2010 USA Ultimate Youth Club Championships. We did well. Our girls won gold (they’ve won every year this tournament’s been in existence), our boys took silver (losing to DVYL – Delaware Valley Youth League), and our co-ed team took third (the highest this team has ever placed). You can say we hit for the cycle. It was the best overall showing by our kids in the history of YCC.

Many of the kids I coach at Franklin HS made the teams this year (kids have to try-out in the late spring/early summer). In fact 7 of my kids made the team! I’m proud of them all. As we were boarding the plane to go out to Minnesota – one of my kids told me that this would be the farthest he’s ever been from home. Wow. I love that my kids are expanding their horizons (literally and figuratively)!

This tournament is a lot of work for me. I help pick coaches, figure out logistics, book travel and hotels, order uniforms, get paperwork filled, stay in touch with tournament officials, create rosters, connect with parents and update Twitter so people can stay up-to-date on scores. (check out @discnwycc on twitter)

I get paid a stipend for my work but I really do it cause I love seeing the kids work so hard and compete at a high level. It’s super tiring though and this may be my last year. We’ll see how I feel in six months.

Anyways it’s good to be home. Life is pretty quiet without sixty kids running around you.

About franknam

Just a boy in a world trying to do good, teach others, laugh, and eat tasty food. I dig snowboarding, the PacNW, all things NYC, ultimate frisbee, and anything well-made.
This entry was posted in Ultimate (frisbee). Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to YCC 2010 – Hitting for the Cycle

  1. Terry Crowley says:

    Frank, you are appreciated! The quote from Jess on our ride home from the airport was “this was the best weekend of my whole life”. An amazing experience for our kids – thanks for being a key part of making it happen.

Leave a Reply

