Books!

Not to brag but back in 3rd grade I was pretty famous. I was on a local cable show in Lyndhurst, NJ for winning a highly scholastic competition. The local library had a contest every year to  see which kid could read the most books over the summer. I won the 3rd grade level.

By a ton.

Not bragging.

OK, maybe a little.

My friends and I would bike down to the library pretty much EVERY day over the summer and borrow anywhere from 3 to 7 books. Then we’d pedal our little BMX bikes back home and read all day and night. Then we’d do the same thing again the next day!

I started with a series of books about Japanese movie monsters. I read books on Godzilla, Rodan, Mothra, Ghidrah, and King Kong. Then I switched to NFL heroes. I learned about Fran Tarkenton, Joe Namath, Roger Staubach, and Terry Bradshaw. I also borrowed books on greek mythology and then switched to norse mythology. My dreams were filled with Pegasi, Frost Giants, Perseus, and Odin.

I’ve always loved reading and it’s true today.

Here’s a list of books I’m currently reading:

“Managing the Millenials” by Espinoza, Ukleja, and Rusch – It’s based on a study of successful and unsuccessful managers of millenials. Since part of my job is recruiting people who are 17 to 24 – it’s important to know what makes them tick, what they value and how they view work.

“Good to Great” by Jim Collins – I read the non-profit addendum to this book and just recently borrowed the full version from my Executive Director. I haven’t opened it yet though.

“Drown” by Junot Diaz – Another book I haven’t cracked open yet. It’s a number of short stories by the author of one of my favorite books – “The Brief and Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao”

“Runaway” by Alice Munro – I’ve only read the first short story thus far but it’s good. It was recommended to me by AlsoLisa (the girl I’ve been dating recently) and we’re going to use it as the basis of our personal book club.

I stopped by Barnes and Noble today and for some unknown reason purchased two more books. What’s wrong with me??

I picked up “The Ramen King and I” by Andy Raskin. I bought it b/c I read the first page and it was well written. And b/c he mentioned “ultimate frisbee”. And b/c I love ramen!

Lastly I picked up “Zeitoun” by Dave Eggers. He happens to be one of my favorite authors. A review on the back makes the claim that this is his best novel yet. Sounds impressive.

It’s supposed to rain tomorrow – which means perfect weather for reading!

About franknam

Just a boy in a world trying to do good, teach others, laugh, and eat tasty food. I dig snowboarding, the PacNW, all things NYC, ultimate frisbee, and anything well-made.
This entry was posted in Books, Childhood and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

