Where to Start?

I’m back for my first substantial update in almost a year.

I guess I could write about the job I started in October of 2009 as the Recruitment Manager of the local branch of a national AmeriCorps organization. (I’m now the Director – heck yeah – talk about working up the non-profit ladder!)

Or maybe I can catch you all up on the amazing experiences I had coaching kids on the Franklin HS ultimate teams? (Our two co-ed teams won both the B and C pool championships at Spring Reign and our Boy’s A team got to quarter-finals at States!)

Perhaps you’d like to hear about my recent trip to Boston or my upcoming one to Minnesota?

All the above topics would make for good blog posts but let me tell you about something much more interesting.

I recently went on a date.

It was one of the best first dates I’ve ever had. (Molly Moon’s for ice cream, great conversations while sitting in Cal Anderson and sipping on cocktails at Oddfellows)

The subsequent dates have been just as good if not better. (lunch in Georgetown followed by Prickly Pear ice cream from Full Tilt for dessert, dinner at Buddha Ruksa followed by a long walk at Lincoln Park followed by drinks at Bev Place, pizza at Via Tribunali in Queen Anne followed by dessert at Poppy)

I’m having a great time getting to know her. Our conversations have been all-encompassing.

We’ve had serious talks but also laugh out loud and laugh often. We talk about what dogs we’d want to own. We talk about food, the New Yorker, writing, art, dance and religion. We discuss our Asian parents (she’s Taiwanese) and their expectations. We send each other links about music or stuff white people like. We talk as I drive with the blue neon floor lights on in my very Asian car (a car that btw, is still nameless!). We wear cool sunglasses. Sometimes she wears her sunglasses at night.

One of my favorite things is hearing her laugh. Luckily for me, I’m pretty hilarious… Or she’s really gracious with the laughter.

I’m fine with either.

When she smiles, I forget what I was saying. When she carefully considers a response or composes a thought, she adoringly tilts her head, squints her eyes, and smiles out of the corner of her mouth. She always looks great but when she’s in a summer dress I secretly wish we were dating in Hawaii or San Diego and not Seattle.

It’s still early but I’m enjoying each day.

Now hopefully you won’t have to wait another year for my next update.

About franknam

Just a boy in a world trying to do good, teach others, laugh, and eat tasty food. I dig snowboarding, the PacNW, all things NYC, ultimate frisbee, and anything well-made.
This entry was posted in Warm & Fuzzy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

