Recent Changes

I’ve gone through a number of changes even before recently leaving the world of the gainfully employed. Here are a few.

Work
Well I should start with this. I’m not working right now. Not breaking news you say? Look, I never promised ground-breaking-investigative journalism here. Move along.

Goodbye Ginger – Hello <insert new car name here>!
In 1994 my brother leased a brand new Honda Accord LX coupe. 2 years later he decided to move to Seoul to follow a girl. He eventually married that girl but that’s neither here nor there (I always wanted to use that cliche! – score!). When he left he told me I can have the car with the caveat that I’d have to cough up the monthly payments. Well I had that car from 1996 till 2009. But now she’s gone.

honda accord

I’m sorry to say that in late June of this year – Ginger was involved in a small but costly accident where she lost her front bumper. (A moment of silence please)

Since the car was 15 years old and had over 240K miles on it the insurance company declared it a total and gave me a check for about $2,000. It was way more than I ever thought I’d get for her! My sorrow turned to joy!

That led to my current car. It’s a dark blue 2007 Scion tC. I pay $270 a month. My joy turned back to sorrow! It’s also a manual transmission which led to more sorrow but now I can truly say that I love this car. Yes I’m unemployed and have car payments. Yes it’s not AWD or 4WD and thus a poor transport for my snowboarding trips. Yes it’s another coupe and not a sedan. But it’s mine. And I love her.

scion tc

I just need a name for her. It’s really embarrassing to have a car with no name. Suggestions?

Hair
You should’ve seen my hair in early 9th grade. Shaved on the sides and back with bangs that went down to my chin. Oh and I sprayed Sun-In on the bangs so it was orange/red in the front and black everywhere else. I listened to a lot of Depeche Mode and erasure then. You dig?

After 9th grade I’ve had the same basic haircut until about two years ago. Shaved on the sides and back and short on the top. Very conservative. Very Asian-American.

The last few years I changed back to a longer “swoop” hairstyle sans the orange-artificial coloring. My “emo phase” as my friends would say.

Well the short hair is back. It was a great change for the summer but I’ll miss my swoop emo haircut come winter when all I’ll want to do is wear beanies. Oh well. Maybe I should start letting it grow out again? What do you think?

Enjoi Pandas
If you’ve seen me in the last couple of years you’ve probably seen me wearing a hoodie or a t-shirt with a panda on it. It’s the logo of a skateboard company called enjoi. I really dig this brand and am now referred to as “Panda” amongst my ultimate-playing friends. Well I got a new enjoi t-shirt. It’s awesome. I like pandas ok??

enjoi-panda

Heck I even dressed up as a panda last Halloween. Face paint, white beanie with black cotton balls, a home-made black shirt with white felt glued around the stomach, black sweatpants, black canvas shoes with white soles, and black mittens. I won second place at a Halloween contest at a local bar. Maybe I should try out for Project Runway??

A Pool At Last!
I started playing in the local Seattle ultimate (frisbee) leagues years and years ago. But I’ve always played on a C pool team or even a D pool team. Well I’m proud to say that as of this summer I’ve played on an A pool team. We lost in the finals in the Summer and just recently won the Fall league.

Of course almost all my teammates have played in Nationals and Worlds recently. The best I’ve done is play at Regionals. Once. In college. About 15 years ago. Whatever. It’s the A Pool and you can’t take that away from me.

Peace.

About franknam

Just a boy in a world trying to do good, teach others, laugh, and eat tasty food. I dig snowboarding, the PacNW, all things NYC, ultimate frisbee, and anything well-made.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Recent Changes

  1. sizzle says:

    I tried on a hat the other day and realized I better start growing my hair out because I look really butch in hats with this short hair. NO GOOD for my rep! 😉

    At least your new car let’s you pretend you are in a racing movie. Sweeeeeeeet.

Leave a Reply

