Life of Leisure

People dream about living a life of leisure. Well time to wake up cause I’ve been living the dream ever since my last day at work ended on August 28th, 2009. The thing is – It’s not all that great.

Yes I have bills to pay with only one more paycheck on the horizon but that’s not the worst of it. The worst of it is the time. I have ALL THIS TIME and I can only watch so many episodes of Weeds. (Great show btw!) I’m sure I’ll start volunteering somewhere, start on some projects, try some new recipes, write a novel, build a monument, choreograph, perform and shoot an interpretive dance about unemployment to thunderous fame and wonder on YouTube… or not.

I’ve spent the last few days connecting with friends, sitting at the beach on Alki, and running errands. I’ve applied for jobs and unemployment. Well this is my second foray into the wonderful, warm, caring underbelly of government assistance. I received checks from the federal government back when the Interweb almost imploded on itself a number of years ago. It’s a whole lot better this second time around and I hope that this episode doesn’t last as long as the last one (about a year!).

Malcolm Gladwell has a new-ish book out called Outliers. I haven’t read it but I heard from a friend who heard from a friend who heard from some talk show covering an interview Mr. Gladwell did on some or other cable news show that there are no real geniuses. In fact the “geniuses” like Einstein and Mozart only achieved what they did b/c they put in a LOT more hours of work and practice than others.

If that’s true maybe I should film the next 10,000 hours of my life (416 days or so) and then just edit out the boring and embarrassing parts to end up with a five minute documentary of pure gold!

Man my ideas really suck today.

Well at least I can look forward to UPA Sectionals, coaching a YCC league team, and hopefully a Fall MS League team in the upcoming month. That’ll keep me busy.

So all my readers – what should I do with my life? Well there’s like 1 of you readers so far so here’s your chance to play god. Bid me and I will (possibly) do what you command.

Until then I’m on my own.

About franknam

Just a boy in a world trying to do good, teach others, laugh, and eat tasty food. I dig snowboarding, the PacNW, all things NYC, ultimate frisbee, and anything well-made.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Life of Leisure

  1. cgduncan says:

    Well sence your mentioned God, I would have to agree that your on the right track. He is the answer to (everthing) I really believe that. Have you read his book? Just wondering? Gail

  2. Sizzle says:

    I was kinda serious about the car washing business at the 2100 Bldg. I think I’ve already lined up like 5 takers! And we tip big!

    But that’s just temporary. You’re destined for greatness, not car washing.

    Does that sound like I look down on car wash attendants?

    SUPPLIES!

  3. gnutmeg says:

    I’m no stranger to the vast void of excess time. I’ve dealt by the list-it and do-it method. Make a list the night before, and do it all the next day – all of it. You win when you start making shorter lists because you can’t find the time to do it all.

Leave a Reply

