Sam Cooke

I have to give my friend Tony in LA my undying gratitude for turning me on to Sam Cooke about 10 years ago. He probably doesn’t know it but we were once in the Virgin Megastore in Vancouver, BC when I noticed he picked up a Sam Cooke CD from the bargain bin. Tony has great taste in music and I started downloading and listening to him when I got home that day.

His most popular song is the title of this blog: A Change is Gonna Come and I think it’s appropriate to start my first post with the lyrics. But don’t just read them. Go download the song, crank the volume up, and listen. This is who and what I listen to when a day is especially bad. Sam Cooke’s voice always beckons me to hope and pulls me up from whatever doldrums I temporarily find myself in.

I was born by the river in a little tent
Oh and just like the river I’ve been running ever since
It’s been a long, a long time coming
But I know a change gonna come, oh yes it will

It’s been too hard living but I’m afraid to die
Cause I don’t know what’s up there beyond the sky
It’s been a long, a long time coming
But I know a change gonna come, oh yes it will

I go to the movie and I go downtown
Somebody keep telling me don’t hang around
It’s been a long, a long time coming
But I know a change gonna come, oh yes it will

Then I go to my brother
And I say brother help me please
But he winds up knocking me
Back down on my knees

Ohhhhhhhhh…..

There been times that I thought I couldn’t last for long
But now I think I’m able to carry on
It’s been a long, a long time coming
But I know a change gonna come, oh yes it will

About franknam

Just a boy in a world trying to do good, teach others, laugh, and eat tasty food. I dig snowboarding, the PacNW, all things NYC, ultimate frisbee, and anything well-made.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sam Cooke

  1. sizzlesays says:

    If you keep writing I might have to point readers in your direction. Is that a promise or a threat? Heh.

Leave a Reply

