Take Two

Well this is my second blog ever. I decided to dig into my old blog to find something fun to start this one with. If you ever feel like digging through my old thoughts find them at: http://www.xanga.com/backside_360.

But now for something completely different (well not that different at all)…

TEN YEARS AGO I ..
I was celebrating my 2nd year in Seattle and still working as a Web Developer for MSNBC.com. If my math is right I was probably growing back my hair after shaving it all off during my first year in Seattle.

FIVE YEARS AGO I ..
Was probably the start of the worst year of my life. No joke. My then-girl friend’s mom was diagnosed with a brain tumor that would ultimately take her life two years later. I was laid off at work and spent a year collecting unemployment checks from Uncle Sam. And then to cap it off my mom almost passed away twice from a rare blood disorder called Evan’s Syndrome.

Don’t worry – things are much better now~

ONE YEAR AGO I ..
I was just finishing up running my very first Ultimate tournament. It was the 2007 UPA High School Western Championships. Check out the website at hs-westerns2007.upa.org. It was my fifth month at Treehouse and just like now – I was loving my job!

YESTERDAY I ..
I went to The Sitting Room in LQA for happy hour with some co-workers and then played ultimate. It’s only been 2 months since I got cleared by my surgeon and physical therapist to start playing again after my ACL surgery in September but I played some good ulty if I do say so myself.

Probably had the best defensive layout ever. I was covering someone 15 years younger than me and still felt good!

FIVE SNACKS I ENJOY:

Pita Chips from Trader Joe’s

Cheesecake from Veneiro’s in NYC

Kit-Kats

Mango ice cream

Chicken McNuggets. Terrible I know.

FIVE SONGS I KNOW ALL THE WORDS TO:
Scenario – A Tribe Called Quest

Oxford Comma – Vampire Weekend
Running To Stand Still – U2

Spaceship – Kanye West

Flight 180 – Bishop Allen

FIVE THINGS I WOULD DO WITH 100 MILLION DOLLARS:
Buy a lifetime pass to Whistler Blackcomb and a condo there for all my friends.

Hire the owners of some of the best pizzerias, delis, korean restaurants, and bagel stores in NYC and bring them to Seattle.

Hire myself an entourage. I would definitely need an entourage.

Keep the same job I have now.

Fly into space on one of those commercial space flights. That’d be rad.

FIVE BAD HABITS:
Going to bed really really late.

A small small case of road rage.

Pride in not being right.

McDonald’s Chicken Nuggets.

Procrastination.

FIVE BIGGEST JOYS:
Hip-deep powder.

Having an amazing conversation… that connection with another human being.

Good food with good friends.

Watching my HS kids play ultimate.

Playing ultimate when the defense is playing a zone.

FIVE FAVORITE TOYS:
My brand new Canon S3 IS.
My laptop.

My iPod nano.

Any frisbee in my collection.

My Run DMC figurines on my desk. They’re not dolls!

FIVE PLACES I WOULD RUN AWAY TO:
no place I would run away to permanently… but I’d take a long hiatus at Whistler or some European/New Zealand resort.

FIVE THINGS I WOULD NEVER WEAR:
bell bottom jeans
many of the things found at abercrombie

an all burberry outfit

one of those gucci man purse bag things

birkenstocks

FIVE FAVORITE TV SHOWS:
The Simpsons
Deadwood

Sportscenter
The Office

Arrested Development

FIVE FAVORITE MOVIES:
Good Will Hunting

Garden State

Angel-A

The Princess Bride

Midnight Run

About franknam

Just a boy in a world trying to do good, teach others, laugh, and eat tasty food. I dig snowboarding, the PacNW, all things NYC, ultimate frisbee, and anything well-made.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Take Two

  1. sizzlesays says:

    You in bell bottom jeans? Inconceivable!

    😉

Leave a Reply

