Hip Hop You the Love of My Life

I remember listening to Run DMC as a middle school kid in suburban New Jersey. My brother and his friends would blast King of Rock and You Talk Too Much while quoting lyrics all the time. That’s when I started my love/obsession with hip hop.

I remember growing up listening to Tribe Called Quest, Public Enemy, Eric B. & Rakim, NWA, Beastie Boys, BDP, Big Daddy Kane, EPMD, De La Soul, Jungle BrothersWu Tang Clan, Gang Starr, Nas, Biggie Smalls, Digital Underground, Jay-Z and hosts of others.

My favorite female MC of all time is and will always Lauryn Hill. Her Miseducation album is one of my favorites. Tribe Called Quest also holds a very special place in my heart. Scenario is one of my favorite songs of all time.

When I hear old songs from my youth I reminded of random things like the arcades that used to be under Penn Station in NYC, the 7 train to Flushing and back, the N/R to the village, ultimate tournaments and getting pumped up, car rides throughout the tri-state area, the 77 bus from Livingston to NYC, and all my friends back home.

I’ve had other phases in terms of music. I had a huge New Wave phase in MS/HS and even had a big contemporary christian music phase. But hip hop has been part of my life and will continue to be part of my life.

Nowadays I also listen to The Roots, Kanye West, Jay-Z (Still killing it after all these years), Blue Scholars, Thee Satisfaction, Shabazz Palaces, Macklemore, and yes, I’ll admit it, Rihanna.

What music moves you? Describes you? Lives in your soul? A particular artist? A particular song? Please share…

About franknam

Just a boy in a world trying to do good, teach others, laugh, and eat tasty food. I dig snowboarding, the PacNW, all things NYC, ultimate frisbee, and anything well-made.
This entry was posted in Arts, Childhood, NYC, Reflections, Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hip Hop You the Love of My Life

  1. Doug Sumi says:

    “She want to know if we can be together
    even if it can’t be forever
    but it can only be for one night
    The only thing I ever loved in my life was the mic”

  2. Sizzle says:

    I was a big Beastie Boys fan back in the day (actually really dig their latest album, those old guys still got it!). I recently went down memory lane and downloaded a bunch of old school tunes from the likes of PM Dawn, Tribe Called Quest, Salt n Peppa (personal favorite!) and even Bel Biv DeVoe.

    I’m a huge fan of old soul (Otis, Aretha, Ray, Sam, Etta…) and jazz (Frank, Miles, Ella, Billie, Dexter, Chet…). And I’m basically a sucker for anyone with an acoustic guitar and some really great lyrics. Glen Hansard of The Swell Season, Van Morrison, Neko Case, etc.

  3. @licorous says:

    With you lock step except Lauren Hill + Rihanna. #missy #queen #dabrat

Leave a Reply

